Cricket Terminology

In the world of Cricket, there are many terms you need to know. The terminology alone is frightening to many. What is a Wicket, Stump, bowler or bail? They have a word or title for just about everything or everyone and this can get confusing. The best way to understand what cricket is, is to first translate their special language. Let’s talk about the most important terms to know stemming from the Wicket. First, a Wicket consists of three stumps that are hammered into the ground and topped with two bails. The Stumps are the three vertical posts which support the two bails, and your bails are smaller sticks placed on top of the three stumps or at either end of the pitch(the central strip of the cricket field) to form a wicket. There are a several different uses for the term wicket in the game of cricket, one of them being the Set of Stumps. These of course are the posts of which the wicket is on. One stump is recognized as the off stump, and is positioned on the same side of the batsman’s bat. The middle stump is in the middle of the wicket and the leg stump is on the same side as the batsman’s legs. Another way “Wicket” is used is when Dismissing a Batsman (getting a Batsman out). When a batsman is out, the correct phrase to use is that he “lost his wicket.” If the batsman is out by a bowler (the pitcher) Then you can say the “bowler has taken his wicket.”

There are a couple ways the batsman’s wicket can be taken, this by being bowled or Run out. Being bowled is when the batsman’s wicket is put down by a ball pitched by the bowler. It can also be taken when a batsman is run out which is if at any time while the ball is in play and no part of his bat or himself is grounded, the wicket is taken out by the opposing side behind the popping crease. The popping crease is usually marked with white chalk on the field of play. A “hit wicket” can take place as well. This is if after the bowler has pitched and while the ball is in play, his wicket is accidentally put down by his bat or himself. Wicket is sometimes referred to the type of cricket pitch itself. And finally, another way a wicket is interpreted is through partnership; the sequence of time which two batsmen bat together. The first wicket partnership is from the start of the innings until a first batsman gets out, the second wicket starts from when a first batsman gets out, until a second batsman gets out and so on. There are 10 innings in the game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *